• SCholarships

We are pleased to inform you that the third Call for proposals of the Intra-Africa Academic Mobility Scheme funded by the European Union (EU) under the Pan-African Programme was published on 11 March 2019. The deadline to submit the proposals is 12 June 2019 at 12:00 (noon) Brussels Time.

So far, two Calls for proposals were launched in 2016 and 2017, which resulted in the selection of fourteen projects. The funds available for this third Call for proposals amount to EUR 10 million, which will allow funding 7 additional projects.

The programme funds partnerships between higher education institutions from different countries and regions in Africa and grants scholarships for students, and academic and administrative staff to carry out studies, research or teaching in another African country. It is managed by the European Commission through the Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency, under the supervision of the Directorate General for International Cooperation and Development and in collaboration with the African Union Commission.  The Intra-Africa Academic Mobility Scheme is based on the positive experience under the Africa component of the Intra-ACP Academic Mobility Scheme (2010-2013).

You can find information about the Programme and the current Call for proposals on the Agency’s website (https://eacea.ec.europa.eu/intra-africa_en).

Attached, please find an information note (in EN/FR/PT) to publicise the Call for proposals.

We would be grateful if you can disseminate the above information note among your staff members and other relevant stakeholders that might be interested in submitting or taking part in a project proposal. You may also wish to publish it on the website and/or Facebook page of your organisation/institution.

We remain available for any further information you may need.

For additional information regarding International Scholarships, please feel free to peruse the official Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET) Scholarships site via the following link:


Any individual/higher education institution/organisation interested in the aims of the IEASA may apply for membership.

Pursue a one-year master’s degree in China

This is to inform you that mid-ranking young officials will have the opportunity to pursue a one-year mater’s degree in China, all in English. You also have the alternative of finishing your thesis in SA in the next year.

The 7 Master’s degree programs, which will start in September 2019, are:

  1. The Master of Laws (LL.M.) Program in Chinese Law offered by Peking University (PKU)
  2. International Master of Public Health (IMPH) Program offered by Tsinghua University
  3. The Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB) Master of International Finance (AMIF) program offered by University of International Business and Economics (UIBE)
  4. Master in China Studies offered by Zhejiang University (ZJU)
  5. LL.M. in International Economic Law offered by East China University of Politics and Law (ECUPL)
  6. MBA Program for Developing Countries offered by South China University of Technology (SCUT)
  7. Master’s Program of One-Belt-One-Road Sustainable Infrastructure Engineering (MOSI) offered by Southeast University (SEU)

Qualifications for an eligible applicant include:

  1. Healthy both physically and mentally; not over 45 years old (born after September 1, 1974).
  2. A bachelor or higher degree, at least 3 years’ work experience, some educational or professional experience in a field relative to that of the program applied.
  3. Working in a government agency, company or research institute, and being a Section Director or Chief of Office, a senior manager, or being a lecturer or assistant researcher or above in scientific researches.
  4. Good English language proficiency, able to follow English-taught courses well. Minimum requirements for reference: IELTS (Academic)total score 6.0, or TOEFL Internet score 80.
  5. Having a strong development potential in his/her career, and willing to promote the mutual cooperation and exchanges between China and his/her home country.
  6. Studentswho are now studying in China or already winners of Chinese Government Scholarship are not allowed to apply.

Note: More details about each program can be found in the corresponding university’s recruitment prospectus.

The scholarship will cover:

  • Exempted fees: tuition and internship fees.
  • On-campus accommodation.
  • Living Allowance.
  • One-off settlement subsidy after registration.
  • Comprehensive medical insurance.
  • A one-way air ticket to China upon registration and a one-way air ticket back from China to the student’s home country after completion of the study.

All applicants should communicate with me and then log in the “Chinese Government Scholarship Information System” (http://www.csc.edu.cn/studyinchina or http://www.campuschina.org) to submit online application and supporting documents. The deadline for application is 27 March 2019.

© Copyright - IEASA 2019 Website designed by Amberjade
Show Buttons
Hide Buttons